Buttered Coffee

It is Monday of what I am officially calling “Mudder Week” in our house. Yes, teh funneh is not lost on me that on Sunday it is “Mudder’sMother’s Day”. *kneeslap*

Indeed, I am getting spoiled this weekend. I am getting away to a cottage and a ski resort where on Saturday, I am indulging in several cleansing mud and ice baths, some electroshock therapy, a massage using tiny rocks scraped across my skin at timed intervals, and some rigorous new-age calisthenics.

Just wait until you see my after-spa glow! I hear they let you keep the head band.

Ok, joking aside, we are less than a week to the Big Mudder. I am in taper, and I officially want to punch every runner I see. Why?

They are running and I am not.

This morning, the birds were singing, the temperature was near perfect, the sun was out… And I could not go for a run. My legs are twitching. Yesterday I was aching to go run, but… It’s not that I can’t, I just shouldn’t. All weekend, my shins have been super sore. Standing for too long makes them hurt. I am freaking outworried that my shin splints are back, and I have a crazy calendar coming up and don’t want to have to bail on a (already paid for) race because I am hobbling. Yes, I know, #firstworldproblems, but I’ve been working hard for this. I want not to be sidelined. I think my lower legs might just be massive KT Tape tubes by the time we get to Saturday. Also? My knees hurt too. ^%*$.

I have been icing, resting and slathering various ache relieving potions on my legs to see if one does the trick.

Verdict? None.*%^$.

Maybe butter would work, it soothes me when I’m feeling pinchy and out of sorts (read: omnomnom). Right. At least my skin would be silky? Because that is important for pain relief. Baby smooth gams…

On the subject of butter, my husband has been putting it in his coffee (unsalted, of course). I kid you not! He found this dude who had a thimblefull of yak butter coffee on some Tibetan mountain, had a life altering reaction to it, and now touts it as THE healthy way to “Bulletproof” you day, solve the world’s problems, have more energy than a 2 year old, lose weight, and most importantly, stay regular.

http://www.bulletproofexec.com/how-to-make-your-coffee-bulletproof-and-your-morning-too/ – Check it out. I would think this would be a great coffee for adventure racers/extreme marathoners/mountain climbers, or anyone who lives in an extreme climate, like Alert or the Mohave Desert and needs the calories to survive… But for us urbanites in four-season Ottawa? I dunno…Excessive much?

I tried some when husband made it, for fun. Oh.. Oh my… Butter? IN coffee? Two of my favorite things together? The clouds parted, the angels began to sing. It was glorious! I took my tiny sip of my husband’s coffee, but refused my own cup.

Yes, I eschewed it. I knew right then that if I decided I liked it, I would want it all the time and whoa Nelly… That there is some fat content! So I decided No. Nope. Not one bit. Eh… hehe…

GIVE IT TO MEEEEEE! *ahem*

I am fully expecting my husband will want to pack the Magic Bullet, butter, coconut oil and coffee grinds for this weekend. Maybe Sunday morning I will indulge, and put some Bailey’s in it too. Extra super Bulletproof Sunday Morning Coffee! Zing! Whee! *boing*

It is totally a thing.

T-5 Days folks. It is gonna be a long week. Send me links of funny cats and tried-and-true pain relief for achy legs. I needs it!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Buttered Coffee

  1. I so ‘get’ the taper crazies especially for a big big race like this 🙂 rest assured if your feeling crazy then your doing it right! Rest, plan, dream, stay distracted and get ready because your going to have one of the best days of your life!!!!

    • I am counting hours this week. It seems like it was just yesterday I signed up to do this crazy thing!

Leave a Reply

