Running on Impulse

I was thinking ahead to my long run this Sunday this morning. I was pondering if I should do 12, stick with 10, or do less. My last long run before my taper starts on May 1 for Tough Mudder had to be just right. As I scrolled through my friend’s Facebook updates, it dawned on me I may have to do my long run solo, since everyone was at the Manotick Road Race this Sunday. http://manotickroadrace.com/.

Bummer.

I have enjoyed being with people to cover my bigger distances. It really helps. I love it. I did have one friend offer to run with me, but that was after I did a very impulsive thing. A somewhat pricey, but not unaffordable, spur-of-the-moment thing using my run fund! (I love being able to do stuff because I pay myself $1 per km. New shoes? Yes please.)

So what did I do? I signed up for the 10k race.

Oh yes I did.

I was expecting to run my first 10k “race” on Ottawa Race Weekend, two weeks after Mudder. (Yes, I know I ran the Resolution Run, but it was more of a friendly run, not really a race) However, the opportunity to see friends run, participate in an event, and get bling for it? Oh Hells yeah!

So, tonight is hills with Run Club (yes, even if its rainin’, I will be there RARRR!), followed by a short (3 day?) light activity taper to have fresh legs for this run. I do want to try and get a time similar to my runs with Run Club, so 1:17 to 1:30 for the full 10k. I know for some of you, that is *%$^ slow, but my goal per k is between 7:30 and 8:00 minutes per km, with some negative splits on the second half of the course, maybe. That is a good effort for me, without pushing too much and shredding myself before my Very Big Goal™.

Also? 10:1’s all the way, baby, of course. They are magical for endurance at this stage in my journey.

I mea,n seriously, I am not scared of the distance anymore (How did that happen? Meep!), but 10k, although it has become much easier, is still a big distance for me to run. This is also a race, so adrenaline and excitement will play a part in how I run. I want to run my own race. Run Happy, enjoy the new running route, and just soak it all in. Start out slow, warm up, build some steam and finish strong.

I was struck, as I bonked the “Pay” button, that almost to the day last year, I signed up for the Army Run 5k, and it scared the living tar outta me. (https://mustangsabby.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/so-i-signed-up-for-this-race/)Run 5k? It seemed like such a farfetched goal when running for more than 2 minutes was really difficult for me. Now, a year later, I am signing up for a 10k as a training run for something else.

Holy crap.

3 thoughts on “Running on Impulse

Leave a Reply

