Upper Management

My arms feel like those wiggly rubber Jelly shoes I remember from my childhood, after being left in the sun for a day. Hoo Dogeys, I am going to hurt tomorrow on the top half of my body. Maybe parts of the middle too, we shall see. After being off for over a week, I got to the gym today fired up and hit it hard. Maybe too hard… it could have been the heavy, angry rock I decided would be today’s soundtrack. Disturbed, Three Days Grace, Mudvayne, Drowning Pool… ARRRR! GRRR and stuff…

After my workout though, the definition in my bicep when I was showering distracted me, and I dropped my soap on the floor. Where did that come from? *poke* So that was neat. I am easily amused, it seems. *poke*

I try to do two strength workouts a week, and incorporate core work into every day I do get to the gym, like plank, crunches, squats, lunges etc. I have to be efficient, since the time I get to workout is precious (I know you just heard Gollum in your head… Go on… my precioussssss…). It also makes me feel better after a run to let my core do some last minute screaming before I kick off my shoes.

I’m nice like that.

In searching for a way to be more routined in my weight room activities, I downloaded an app (Fitness Buddy), did some reading, and have come up with (so far) an upper body workout that I tried for the first time today. It was:

  • 5 minute warmup on elliptical ( I don’t need more, I already hoof it to the gym on foot)
  • 7 reps x 3 Incline Dumbbell Bench press – 12.5 pounds
  • 7 reps x 3 Flat Dumbbell overhead pullover- 12.5 pounds
  • 3 reps x 2 Assisted bodyweight pullup
  • 10 reps x 3 Dumbbell Row- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps x 3 stiff leg Dumbbell deadlift – 20 pounds
  • 10 reps x 3 neutral Dumbbell Bicep curl- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps x 3 cross body Dumbbell Bicep curl- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps x 3 Dumbbell Tricep extension- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps x 2 Dumbbell tricep kickback- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps each arm x 2 Front Dumbbell raise- 12.5 pounds
  • 10 reps x 2 Dumbbell Shrug – 20 pounds
  • 20 reps x 2 crunch
  • 5 reps x 2 straight leg raise and lower (these SUCK…)
  • 2 minutes x 2 flutter kicks
  • 40 reps x 2 Russian Twists
  • 2 sets plank ALAP (these also SUCK…)

Now, I should have been using 10 pound dumbbells, but I couldn’t find two, only one. And I was going to use 17.5 pound dumbbells for the deadlifts and shrugs, but two girls were hogging both sets. I upped my weights today simply because I had to get %$#@ done. I wish people would put their weights away. Although it is humorous to watch gym employees drag a 70 pound dumbbell over to the rack to put it away, attempting to lift it to the bottom row and falling on their bums. Heh.

Surprisingly, it was ok. I finished my reps with effort, but I could get them finished. I did not, however, get to do my pull ups, there was a line up for the machine, so I left those out. Bummer. Pullups make me feel bad-&$% and butch. Because… Well… When in a weight room at a gym, being the only female surrounded by more testosterone than at an MMA fight party and realizing your headlights are on full display because you wore the wrong sports bra… It means feeling bad-&$% is necessary so you don’t cover your chest, turn beet red and leave.

That may or may not have happened today. The headlight part, not the leaving part. I was getting some looks in the mirror aimed directly at my chest from several of the “Walking Walls” that inhabit this gym. Never seen a nipple before, Sparky? Yeesh… So instead of feeling embarrassed, I smiled and it would make them quickly look away and turn red.

Ok, so maybe pullups weren’t necessary today. I just rocked at making people think I was crazy. Yeebedee-Yeebedee-Yeebedee, that’s all folks!

Reminder to self the first: Wear padded bra whilst lifting things in the gym, put bandaids on those puppies, or somethin’… Yikes.

At the end of my core work, while putting away my kettlebell (because I am a good girl) I decided, because I am also a glutton for punishment, to do ten burpees. Ten, just ten. No biggie, right? Knock ’em out, hit the showers, done and done.

&$%#. That sucked. I was already tired, feeling wobbly from a two minute from knee plank… and I decided I wanted to do BURPEES? If I ever suggest, while working out with someone, that we burpee at the end, punch me. Punch me in the face.

Seriously. Not even kidding.

Reminder to self, the second: Do burpees beforehand, as cardio, to warm up.

Upper Day #1 was great, and I think I like this routine, minus the headlights and burpees. What do you think? too much? Next up is a lower/core routine that will kick my glutes, quads, hams and pelvis into shape for those mountains come may. Any suggestions?<3

2 thoughts on “Upper Management

    • Thanks! I’m starting to feel more comfortable in the weight room now, which is very good. I’ll stick with this for 3 mths and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

