My Handana

(Another musical title! This one must be sung to the tune of “My Sharona” by The Knack. Doo-doo-dooing the chorus optional.)

Yesterday was like Christmas.

The mailman arrived just as I was waking up from my migraine induced mega-nap, and as I raced to the door, praying it wasn’t a salesman, I stubbed my toe on a Hot Wheel monster truck (I think). Cursing my son’s toy under my breath and hopping like a half-drunken tree monkey, I opened the door to the mailman…

…And a massive box.

I love getting things in the mail, and I may or may not have giggled and clapped my hands like a small child as he handed me the box.

My Handanas arrived! Also in the box was a heaping buttload of Thomas and Friends trains and such for my son, from the friends who graciously offered to ship my Handanas to me. To say it was generous is an understatement. I may or may not have been a tad emotional. Miss you too, guys!

My son loved them, and my daughter got into it too. She loved this tiny cherry picker train car, flipping the wee arm up and down. I may have another Thomas-crazy child in my house soon… Oi! She kept holding it up and saying “Twain, Twain!”. No dear, it is not one of yesteryear’s literary giants, it is a “train”.

Heh…

Behold! Pictures of the front and back of my wonderful pink Handana, pre-run. I did not take a picture post run last night, because… well, eww. Nobody needs to see that. Let me just say, it was wet, and kinda slimy.
20120914-113725.jpg

20120914-113753.jpg

I may or may not have put on both Pink handana’s I bought and danced around the house to 80’s pop hits. I fully expect my friend, who ordered a fuschia one, to do so. It is a requirement of ownership, I think. Vogue, darling! VOGUE!

I ordered both my pink ones in medium, since I have wide hands, and I am glad I did, they fit snug. It will go over a winter glove, there is a bit of give, but not much. If you want one for over bulky mittens/gloves, get a large. I tugged it over my fingers as I left the house to drive to my very first group run, and it was so comfortable I forgot I was wearing it! Seriously.

During my run, it was fantastic. I did not have stinging eyes from sweat, nor droplets churning down the sides of my nose to irritate the @#$* out of me. My upper lip was not an icky, gross mess. It was light, not intrusive at all. I rinsed it out last night and let it dry. They are also machine washable. I suggest on a gentle cycle, and with Ivory or perfume-free detergent. Unless, of course, you want to smell the Gain for your whole run. Whatev’s.

The Handanas are made of cotton, the fabric is soft and smooth, and didn’t irritate my nose. One of the tests was to see if repeatedly wiping my schnozz would make it Rudolph-red, but nope! White as ever. I have used winter-gloves with the nose wipe patch on the back while working outside in crazy cold temperatures, and those are ROUGH, man! This is a vast improvement.

I love this thing, and likely will order more, when more colours come out. Seriously, I would love to see a rainbow one… *hint hint* to go with the socks I just ordered.

Unfortunately, Handana doesn’t ship to Canada yet. I ordered mine from Amazon.com, and had a willing US-based friend to ship it to. Since I ordered mine, the Handana site has built an online store, bust still only ships domestic. Perhaps in the near future, the company will ship international.

http://www.myhandana.com/ is the website, please check it out. The inventor, she is awesome (read the About page for her story), and deserves success with this new product.

Please note: I did not receive my Handanas for free to do this review. I aam not being compensated. I just happen to think this product rocks, and wanted to spread the love.

2 thoughts on “My Handana

Leave a Reply

