Carbs, Glorious Carbs!

(Note: the above title should be sung to the tune of “Food, Glorious Food” from the musical “Oliver”, as emphatically as possible)

I did not eat as well as I should have on the weekend.

I blame my husband. It is completely his fault I have peanut butter fingerprints on my iPad. Yes, they are mine and not my children’s.

He has recently discovered the joy of making English Muffins from scratch. They are delicious and better than the store brand. He also tried crumpets, which turned into really, frickin’ delicious tea biscuits (whoopsie doodle on the recipe there, Dearest), so he was disappointed, but I managed to forgive him through mouthfuls of warm, buttery wonderfulness. He also made fresh bread in our bread maker. Lovely, lovely white goodness with a crrrackly crust that begged to made into grill cheese (which happened Saturday evening, ohhh yeah… Mama had grilled cheese).

You see, we don’t buy bread at the store. We make it all from scratch, on demand. Tortillas, bread, muffins, buns. We save a pile of cash and we have fresh bread only when we want it. We also try our hands at crackers, when we have time.

My husband was on a tear, I think because he was fed up not having bread in the house. Keeping the wheaty staple away from our kitchen helps me from defaulting to the easy-peasy sandwich when I am pressed for time and need food. I am a lazy food person. I gravitate to the easiest form of nourishment I can find, usually to the detriment of my carb count and blood sugar levels.

My husband grouches occasionally. He loves having bread as a staple, not a treat. The kids love toast. Sometimes I feel like a mean, mean Mama Bear saying “NO!” to the bread. Sometimes I break down, like this weekend.

So… I had a wee bit of a cheat weekend… Ehh… heh… Bad Sabby *handslap*. English muffins smeared with peanut butter and jam made my eyes roll into the back of my head. It was almost as heady as when my hubby brought home a loaf of white Wonderbread and I had fresh, squishy peanut butter and banana open-faced sandwiches with honey drizzled on top. Yes, junk food in our house is Wonderbread with ample yummy stuff like fruit on it.

I love peanut butter. Probably more than I should. *drool*

This morning I am feeling the effects of the flour and wheat in my system. I am not used to that amount. I am sluggish, achy, and fuzzy headed. I do eat wheat in other forms, but not near as much as I used to, and I know when I have overindulged. Perhaps that is why yesterday’s stroller run was so unbelievably tiring. I literally gave up at 4k of 5:1 walk/jog intervals, pushing that stroller (with my daughter inside, I didn’t take it out empty for fun you know…) and walked the rest of the 7k I wanted to complete on the walk/jog. I felt heavy, and my sweating was different. It wasn’t cleansing. It felt gross. I was clammy and icky. I am sure my blood sugars were creating confusion and delay (choo choo!) for my bloodstream. I had several highs after meals that were not unexpected.

This week I have to get back on the clean eating bandwagon, and be stronger in my choices. I have a race to run in two weeks, and I do not want to be badly fueled and have a crappy run. That would suck. This week I also have my first run with a running club, and I am very nervous, so I don’t want to show up and worry about being able to give 100%. Running with other people is still something I find nerve-wracking, since I am very slow and have wee legs. But I need to step outside the comfort zone and just do it. *grr-arrrgh*

So, no more than one bread-carb serving per day for me, period. Which will be hard, since there is a pile of English Muffins cuddled up to the Skippy, whispering “Eat me… Mmmmm… I am delicious.

Ack!

3 thoughts on “Carbs, Glorious Carbs!

    • The recipe was in a book called “Making Fresh Bread” ISBN 978-1-4075-2898-4.

      It is very similar to Alton Brown’s recipe, or look up an Epicurious recipe that uses scalded milk and yogurt. They key is the muffin rings, and the rise times. They aren’t baked in the oven, they are cooked in a pan, believe it or not. They smell heavenly too. Gurgggg….

  1. The recipe is from one of our cookbooks, I’ll look it up tonight. They are a bit time intensive, but not difficult in terms of skill. I suggest buying (or making) some muffin rings if you want to try them. My husband got his at Kitchenalia for $5. They end up a bit bigger than the store-bought ones, so I am sure the carb count is way higher, but the yum factor is amazing.

Leave a Reply

