Made of Win

I had this whole thinky, touchy-feely post about finding myself all planned out. I wrote it, looked at it today on my break… and promptly deleted it.

It brought me down, was kind of long-winded, and boring. Blah-blah empowerment. Blah-blah remembering my inner confidence. It would have put you to sleep, most likely. I’m done with navel-gazing. Blerch… Let’s move on, shall we?

I was walking to check (and move) my car at work today when it hit me. That feeling I get that screams “I am completely invincible and fabulous!” Ever have those? Where you walk with your head a little higher, your stride a bit longer, your hips a bit swingier? If you could, you would hop up on a picnic table (or your desk/car/Flinstones lunchbox) and say “Look at me world! I am made of win!”. The last time I was truly feeling this awesome and fabulous about myself, I bought a sportscar and met my husband, the same day.

Yep. Whooo Diddley, that was quite a Spring, let me tell you.

These are the days where you are required to wear your favorite jeans, a nice pair of shoes, and smile like mad so folks wonder what you are plotting and scheming. These are the days when you should do your favorite workout, or see your favorite “I-don’t-see-you-enough” person. You should also dance (or chair dance if you don’t want your co-workers to think you are nuts) to your favorite pick-me-up music, and indulge in some of your favorite food.

Laughter is essential. Fist bumps are required. Singing off-key is a nice touch.

I want to infuse my children with this feeling, I want to spread it like frickin’ magic-fairy dust on everyone I see. Everyone should feel this good! Sustain and share the happy because it rocks, man! Or just scream “BE HAPPY, DAMMIT” *flingflingsprinkle*!!!

*ahem*

I am a completely different person than I was before I got married, had kids, and traded the sports car for a mom-mobile. I am in a different place, with different needs and demands of my time and energy. I am a lot older, my body looks different. But I remember this feeling. This current running through my being that I cannot lose, I cannot fall, and I cannot fail. That I have enough energy to take on the world.

Say it with me now, folks… *RAWR*

I’ve missed this. I’ve missed walking along and having people smile at me. I’ve missed feeling confident and sexy. It almost feels like the real me went away a long time ago, and POOF I am back suddenly.

This time, to stay, dammit.

2 thoughts on “Made of Win

  1. Hi Sabby. I don’t usually comment but just wanted you to know that I love the way you write – it’s nice to start my days with a smile! Your humour is more inspirational to me than some of the ’empowerment’ blogs I have read (which I have stopped reading as they are well-meaning but a tad boring!)
    Tammy

    • Thank you Tammy! I appreciate the support. I have always expressed myself better “on paper”, and blogging has been a big part of that for years.

      I also believe that humour and some silliness is integral to success. If you take everything too seriously, you will feel the ups and downs harder. We must laugh at ourselves and our situation to “keep it real”. Seeing the levity in our lives makes lifting ourselves back up easier. 🙂

      Cheers and thanks!

Leave a Reply

