New Year, New You

It is a new year. Officially, today. For me at least.

Since my birthday falls so early in January, I don’t normally celebrate the turning of one year to another until then. Privately, I think I prefer having this one concession to myself. I don’t like to think about the new year until then. The next day, its a deep breath and a “Here we are!” that sets the tone. Sometimes that tone is to continue pell-mell along the same path, other times it is a day to reflect. This year was a reflection day, having a teething, stuffy baby sleeping on me, and not much power to do anything other than read and stare out the window.

And no, I don’t do resolutions. I gave up on that years ago.

Everyone has one. A non-official time of year that stands in for the real one. Maybe, secretly, your new year starts when you go back to school in September, when the leaves are falling. Maybe for you the new year starts when you put in your garden, the land so full of promise and life. We all do it, even if we don’t admit it to anyone. We all have our own personal New Years.

What is yours? What unofficial traditions do you have on those days? What ceremony do you have to mark the day?

~C

One thought on “New Year, New You

Leave a Reply

