My Zodiac is being Officious… err… Ophiuchus

Ok, so suddenly, I am told I should feel much less Goat-y, and much more Centaur-y. I need to get off my mountain, and pick up a bow and arrow. I need to go from chewing on my master’s pant-leg to tromping through fields of flowers with Satyrs, Cherubs, and a drunk Bacchus with a donkey. Gorram it Zeus, stop throwing thunderbolts! Yeesh….

Ok, back to reality. My whole life, I have been a Capricorn. Now, according to the sensational news du-jour, I’m not. I’m a Sagittarius. Right…

Right? Wrong.

I have never really felt the need to identify and label myself seriously with with my zodiac sign. Sure, I found my horoscope fun to read at the end of the day (Did it come true???), and perhaps sometimes read those vague and encompassing profiles that would tell me I was like this, sorta, and like that…sorta. Ok, so sometimes if I got my Tarot read, or palms poked, it would be fun, and kind of spooky how accurate some things could be, but by in large, I was not a true follower of astrology and its merits. It was more of a diversion, and sometimes food for thought to make me look at a decision or life influence in a new way.

Some of my best friends believe in astrology, numerology and its associated practices. It is considered a belief system, and as such, cannot be mocked if someone truly believes. Just like I would not want someone to mock my belief in Jesus as my saviour, and that God loves me. So this post is NOT meant to make fun of anyone who believes.

Though, despite that philosophy, for some reason, once I read the news story and the various Facebook share posts, I felt somehow annoyed. Why can’t I still be a goat? Why do we have to change? And what about all those people I know who have a tattoo of their symbol on their butts? Oh my…

Thank you Ophiuchus (or Serpentarius, if you will).

With this devastating conundrum circling my head for most of the morning, I got busy on my break to find out the why, like any self-respecting Sagittarius/Capricorn confused woman would do. I think, ummm… *baaaah* noo… ummmm *neigh*?

Upon completing the search using my knuckle-cracking Google-Fu, I found the following (top search result) Wikipedia entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ophiuchus_%28astrology%29. I also found, from news feeds, that one Astronomer (some guy named Kunkle) is making waves with his claim we need to use it because for the past thousand years, its been wrong.

Oh my… a thousand years, eh?

I also discovered, upon further Google-Fu-ing, that what the astrologer is referring to is a less popular system of astrology, called Sidereal Astrology with 13 signs instead of our much-beloved 12 (there are other differences, but this is a layman’s summary folks). The signs follow a different mapping system called Axial Precession, instead of the Ecliptic co-ordinate system in use today, which is following the moon, stars, and constellations.

Ophiuchus isn’t new at all! This is simply Old News made new again for some reason, perhaps a 15-minute fame idea that the media got a hold of and ran like a… a…. Well, perhaps a Centaur. They are pretty fast, so I hear. They’d leave a goat in their dust. Hmm…

Most modern astrologers use the “Tropical Astrology” system today, and its perfectly sound. A good article with some information on the differences between the two systems, plus some of the history is here: http://www.examiner.com/metaphysical-in-kansas-city/new-zodiac-signs-has-my-astrological-sign-changed-1.

So after reading a few Wikipedia entries, and finding some debunking articles that all sorta said the same thing, I realized that indeed, this is simply just another way of looking at the stars to align your life’s destiny. I relaxed. I don’t have to bone up on a new “me”.  I can still be a Capricorn. I can still climb on anything I see, grow my beard out, and butt heads with everyone I meet. Heh… Although, being half-horse and half-human kinda appealed to the horsewoman in me, and I was tempted, for a brief moment, to update all my online profiles.

In the end, perhaps I now need to read TWO horoscope entries at the end of each day, just for fun. *wink*

FYI, a summary of the Sidereal Astrology dates are as follows after the break, for those who may be interested what their sign would be if they include Ophiuchus. And for those out there who love snakes and discover they are indeed under Ophiuchus, then, well, you are in LUCK!


ARIES = APRIL 19 – MAY 13
TAURUS = MAY 14 – JUNE 19
GEMINI = JUNE 20 – JULY 20
CANCER = JULY 21 – AUG 9
LEO = AUGUST 10 – SEPTEMBER 15
VIRGO = SEPTEMBER 16 – OCTOBER 30
LIBRA = OCTOBER 31 – NOVEMBER 22
SCORPIO = NOVEMBER 23 – NOVEMBER 29
OPHIUCHUS = NOVEMBER 30 – DECEMBER 17
SAGITTARIUS = DECEMBER 18 – JANUARY 18
CAPRICORN = JANUARY 19 – FEBRUARY 15
AQUARIUS = FEBRUARY 16 – MARCH 11
PISCES = MARCH 12 – APRIL 18

One thought on “My Zodiac is being Officious… err… Ophiuchus

  1. I understand, intellectually, that astrology makes no sense. But I have a superstitious belief in it. And I admit, I was rather annoyed in an unreasonable fashion that someone would DARE suggest I am an Aries and not a Taurus.

    So, this post makes me feel relieved. 😉

Leave a Reply

