Looking Forward from Loss

The fingers I have, once possessed by my Mind’s Eye to rapid-fire emotion onto a page have stilled for awhile. Not by my own lack of interest, I have wanted to write. The absence of physical energy, however, has sapped what enthusiasm was left.

This is a quick note to let you know I have not forgotten, I have not forsaken my WIPs. I just need some time to recover, both in body and in spirit.

At the end of March, we found out we were expecting. Surprised, and a bit worried, we opened our hearts and minds, and embraced the opportunity to share the love we have with a new life.

On May 3rd, we lost our 2nd child, at 9 1/2 weeks gestation. We’ll never know if our baby was a boy or a girl, or what he or she would have looked like. For one blessed moment, we got to hear a heartbeat, and see a tiny round shape on the ultrasound. It will have to be enough.

This baby was loved so much for the short, short time they were with us, and will never be forgotten.

