Powerful and Beautiful

I came across a link to a story on boingboing.net that has me sitting in my chair at work, on break, trying very hard not to cry.

I shouldn’t be crying, I should be applauding, and marvelling at the strength and vulnerability juxtaposed within the woman that the story is about. It is real, it is not all glory and recovery and the triumph through adversity. It makes you really, really examine yourself. At least it reminded me indeed that I am lucky, but in some ways I need to remember that, and go to a more visceral level of myself to be better and more understanding.

It also makes my heart hurt for what this woman has had to endure.

The story is called The Lessons of Lindsay, and it is by a sports journalist named Matt Mendelsohn.

Leave a Reply

